976
I Use This!
Activity Not Available

Ratings and Reviews

Analyzed over 2 years ago. based on code collected about 3 years ago.
Community Rating
4.64658
   

Average Rating:   4.6/5.0
Number of Ratings:   365
Number of Reviews:   6

My Review of Mercurial

You have not rated or reviewed this project.
Click below to rate/review.
My Rating:
0
 
 New Review

Most Helpful Reviews

ThomasWa... says:
Best DVCS yet.  
5.0
 
written about 15 years ago

After having used CVS and GNU arch (tla) before, we switched to Mercurial about a year ago for MoinMoin development.

As well as tla has been a big step forward compared to CVS, Mercurial is another big step forward from tla.

We don't regret it, Mercurial works great:
* we never had serious trouble with it, we never lost data
* it is FAST (much faster than GNU arch)
* the commands are easy to remember and have sane defaults, so you get used to it fast
* it is well-designed
* it uses your disk space efficiently
* it doesn't need a central server, you can use version control on the road without internet connection
* it runs on Linux, Mac, Windows, ...
* it has a nice web interface built-in (you don't even need a separate web server)
* you can read its code (it is mostly Python! CLEAN python code, with a bit of C for better performance.)
* it has very few dependencies (well, it needs Python, of course, but not much else)

18 out of 20 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

herbwin says:
Excellent version control  
5.0
 
written almost 14 years ago

I have used it quite a while now and I am very happy with it. I also recommend using TortoiseHg which is also easy to use and has a very nice GUI front-end to Mercurial!
If you have never used a distributed version control tool before, this is the one!
http://tortoisehg.sourceforge.net/

3 out of 4 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

Radomir ... says:
Doesn't get in your way.  
5.0
 
written over 13 years ago

I just couldn't get used to using version control before I tired Mercurial -- it was just to much work to set everything up, configure, authenticate each time, etc.

With Mercurial, I can just start a project with a single command, and do all the setting up when I want to make my repository public.

2 out of 3 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

Isaque V... says:
A good option to versioning control  
0.0
 
written about 13 years ago

Mercurial fills a gap caused by the learning curve that has been left aside by most version control systems. I started to use it just about 3 months reluctant cause some non positive experience with other VCS, but it exceeded my expectations. Easy to use, intuitive, and lightweight, in part because it does not necessarily run as a service on the machine.
Now I'm working in medium projects (web applications/CMS/ERP, etc), and in all of them I've choosen to use Mercurial as our primary VCS.

1 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

erich says:
Mercurial  
0.0
 
written about 12 years ago

latest version of liked

Did this review help you? |

Most Recent Reviews

morganv says:
Mercurial  
0.0
 
written about 12 years ago

very good and convenient system

Did this review help you? |

erich says:
Mercurial  
0.0
 
written about 12 years ago

latest version of liked

Did this review help you? |

Isaque V... says:
A good option to versioning control  
0.0
 
written about 13 years ago

Mercurial fills a gap caused by the learning curve that has been left aside by most version control systems. I started to use it just about 3 months reluctant cause some non positive experience with other VCS, but it exceeded my expectations. Easy to use, intuitive, and lightweight, in part because it does not necessarily run as a service on the machine.
Now I'm working in medium projects (web applications/CMS/ERP, etc), and in all of them I've choosen to use Mercurial as our primary VCS.

1 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

Radomir ... says:
Doesn't get in your way.  
5.0
 
written over 13 years ago

I just couldn't get used to using version control before I tired Mercurial -- it was just to much work to set everything up, configure, authenticate each time, etc.

With Mercurial, I can just start a project with a single command, and do all the setting up when I want to make my repository public.

2 out of 3 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

herbwin says:
Excellent version control  
5.0
 
written almost 14 years ago

I have used it quite a while now and I am very happy with it. I also recommend using TortoiseHg which is also easy to use and has a very nice GUI front-end to Mercurial!
If you have never used a distributed version control tool before, this is the one!
http://tortoisehg.sourceforge.net/

3 out of 4 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

 See all reviews